Social Science Department
Social Science
Home

For more information about the Biological Sciences Department contact:

Phone: (714) 895-8990

join Our Email List

The Western Sun - The Newspaper of Golden West College

Associate Degree for Transfer
Associate Degree for Transfer

Salary Surfer
Salary Surfer

Search jobs posted at our school!

Free Newsletter - Student Health 101

Welcome to the Biological Sciences Department @ GWC

The Biological Sciences program has a wide range of quality course offerings. These include lecture courses, lecture-lab combinations and on-line hybrid courses. These courses can be taken to complete majors transfer requirements, general education, and as a prerequisite to vocational programs.

The department has 8 full-time faculty, 3 classified staff and variable numbers of part-time faculty and student lab assistants to serve our students. The program provides and maintains an outdoor aquatic ecology lab and a partially completed California native plant garden. These facilities provide valuable resources for both the campus community and nearby cities.

Biological Sciences faculty members are active on many campus committees. Most of the faculty have published laboratory manuals for use in their classes. Over half of the faculty are involved in textbook reviews of texts used in their area of expertise.

Members of the Microbiology, Anatomy and Cell Biology faculty have recently attended conferences all over the United States. One was as a speaker at the 2006 Human Anatomy and Physiology Society national conference.

Faculty members are involved in the science Olympiad, a competition between local middle and high school students. The biology faculty provides direct support (over $15,000/yr.) by donating the biology lab manual royalties to the GWC foundation.

The biology faculty host high school students to give them exposure to biotechnology and college level anatomy and physiology. Departmental supplies and equipment are available for loan to local high schools to support their teaching programs.

Highlights

Contacts

Name Office Location Email PH 714-892-7711
+ extension:
Chair: Darla Kelly Math/Sci 107 dkelly@gwc.cccd.edu 51121
Liz Caluag Math/Sci 112 lcaluag@gwc.cccd.edu 51128
Annamaria Crescimanno Math/Sci 112 acresimanno@gwc.cccd.edu 51064
Catherine Egan Health/Sci 113 cegan@gwc.cccd.edu 51125
MaryLynne LaMantia Math/Sci 212 mlamantia@gwc.cccd.edu 58361
Stephen Miller Math/Sci XXX
smiller@gwc.cccd.edu 51107
Nikki Plaster Math/Sci 107 nplaster@gwc.cccd.edu 51131
Nalani Queja Math/Sci 111b nqueja@gwc.cccd.edu 51130
Travis Vail Math/Sci 220 tvail@gwc.cccd.edu 51117
Michael Valinluck Math/Sci 108 mvalinluck@gwc.cccd.edu 52490