Career Center
Career Center

Career Center Home
Career Resources
Career Assessments
Explore Your Major
Job/Career Websites
SIGI3 Program
Career Articles
Career-related Workshops
Employers

Career Center
Newsletter [PDF]


CollegeCentral.com
Search Jobs!


Career Center
714-895-8217
Office Hours:
Monday - Thursday:
8:00am - 5:00pm
Friday:
8:00am - 12 noon

Location: Inside the Counseling Division (East Wing of the Admissions Building)

join Our Email List

The Western Sun - The Newspaper of Golden West College

Associate Degree for Transfer
Associate Degree for Transfer

Salary Surfer
Salary Surfer

Search jobs posted at our school!

Free Newsletter - Student Health 101

Career Planning and Job Sites

Sections: Career Planning Websites | Job Sites | Resume & Cover Letter Sites

Career Planning Websites

America’s Career Info Net
www.acinet.org

Explore Careers; Watch career videos; learn about the labor market trends; job search, resumes & interviews, etc.

Careers by the People
(Please ask Career Center Staff for Username & Password) http://www.careersbythepeople.com/user/login

Choices Explorer
(Ask Career Staff for log-in code)
www.bridges.com

Explore your career and educational options, read interviews with people in careers, interests & skills assessments, etc.

CareerCafe.com
http://www.cacareercafe.com
A virtual career center where students can assess their strengths, explore educational opportunities, and make connections to professional associations.

CareerGlider
www.CareerGlider.com
CareerGlider helps you learn more about careers that interest you and then, find the right course to a better future.

Careers.org
www.careers.org

Offers in-depth occupation profiles for thousands of careers, which contain specific information, including: the nature of work; average earnings; underlying training and education; related occupations; and corresponding academic programs

Careerzone Caifornia
www.cacareerzone.org

A new way to explore exiting jobs and occupations that the Golden State has to offer and to learn what career path interests you.

Criminal Justice
www.criminaljusticeprogramsonline.com
A guide to the various specialties and careers that fall under “Criminal Justice”

Engineering Resources
http://onlinecollege.org/guides/engineering

Eureka:
(Ask Career staff for Site ID Code)
www.eureka.org

Detailed job descriptions, salaries, and training requirements.  Personality and skills assessments, info. on majors and schools.

Glassdoor:
www.glassdoor.com

An inside look at jobs and companies. Company salaries, reviews, and interviews posted anonymously by career professionals.

Insidejobs
Insidejobs.com

An online library of job descriptions that are fun to read and include videos, salary ranges, and work environment information as an inside look into different careers.

Just Jobs Academy
http://academy.justjobs.com

Career lessons, which include a valuable job search guidehttp://academy.justjobs.com/the-complete-job-search-guide, that will send you to the top of any employer's shortlist

Missing Major
www.missingmajor.com

A tool for students to learn on how to discover their career interests and college major. 

Occupational Outlook Handbook:
www.bls.gov/oco

Compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.  The Handbook is revised every two years.

O*NET:
http://online.onetcenter.org

Detailed descriptions of the world of work.  Choose from industry, field of work, science area, and more.  Learn about the careers’ required knowledge, skills, abilities, tasks, and activities.

Road trip Nation
http://roadtripnation.com/CTE

Explore real people interviews by career interest.

Vocational Biographies
(Ask Career Staff for Site ID Code)
www.vocbiosonline.com

Interviews of real people in careers.

Job Sites

Search jobs posted at our school!  

Golden West College uses College Central Network system as it’s official job posting board and online career resource center.  Search jobs posted exclusively for our school and via the national jobs database, build and upload your resume, create a portfolio and access  career information and job search tips.

AnalystJobs.com AnalystJobs.com

Bright.com www.bright.com

Cal Jobs www.caljobs.ca.gov

CareerBliss www.careerbliss.com

Career City www.careercity.com

Career Builder www.careerbuilder.com

Career Magazine www.careermag.com

College Grad www.collegegrad.com

College Recruiter www.collegerecruiter.com

Company Connector www.companyconnector.com

Craigslist www.craigslist.org

Dice (Technology jobs)www.dice.com

DiversityJob www.diversityjobs.com
Search engine with jobs from diversity-friendly employers

Edjoin (Education jobs)www.edjoin.org

Gad Ball www.gadball.com

General Management Jobs www.general-management-jobs.com

Groove Job (Part-time Jobs)www.groovejob.com

Health Jobs www.healthjobsstarthere.com

Hound www.hound.com

Indeed www.indeed.com

Job www.job.com

JobApplicationCenter.com www.jobapplicationcenter.com

Jobonomics www.jobonomics.com

Jobster www.jobster.com

Law Enforcement Jobs www.lawenforcement.com

LatPro www.latpro.com
Leading job board for Hispanics and bilinguals

Legal Career Resources http://davidaylor.com/2013/06/17/legal-career-resource

Linkup www.linkup.com

Locanto Jobs www.locanto.com/Jobs/J

Monster www.monster.com

MSN Careers msn.careerbuilder.com

Neuvoo: http://neuvoo.com/jobs/?k=&l=California&f=&p=1&r=100

Orange County Careers www.orangecountycareers.com

Orange County Register www.ocjobfinder.com

Quint Careers www.quintcareers.com

Sales-Marketing Jobs www.sales-marketing-jobs.com

Snag a job www.snagajob.com

Retail Jobs www.allretailjobs.com

Simply Hired www.simplyhired.com

TV Jobs www.tvjobs.com

United States Congress www.house.gov

USA Job www.usajobs.gov

Vault www.vault.com

Yahoo Hot Jobs www.hotjobs.com

Young Jobs www.youngjobs.com

Resume & Cover Letter Sites

Resume Links

www.Collegegrad.com/resumes  

www.howtowritearesume.net

www.bestsampleresume.com            

www.how-to-write-a-resume.org

www.career.vt.edu/jobsearc/resumes/formats.htm

www.palomar.edu/counseling/resume/index00.html

http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/719/01/

Cover Letter Links

susanireland.com

www.bestcoverletters.com

www.cv-resume.org

Interview Sites

http://www.quintcareers.com/interview_questions.html

http://www.best-interview-strategies.com/questions.html

Interview Videos

http://video.about.com/jobsearch/Job-Interview-Tips.htm

http://video.about.com/jobsearch/Job-Interview-Body-Language.htm

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xa5pea_best-job-interview-tips_school