Clubs & Organizations

Clubs at Golden West College

Office of Student Life and Leadership
Student Center 2nd Floor
(714) 895-8261

Clubs for Spring 2015
GOLDEN WEST COLLEGE

Joining a campus club is a great way to enrich your academic experience at Golden West College. There are clubs of all types on campus that change periodically with the changing interests of the students. These organizations focus on a variety of topics including student interests, community service, and social clubs.

Starting A New Club
There are five basic steps to start a club at Golden West College:
1. Pick up a petition in the Office of Student Life and Leadership and obtain the signatures of 10 currently enrolled students.
2. Obtain a faculty or staff member who is employed by the District.
3. Obtain review and approval from ICC and the Office of Student Life and Leadership.
4. Submit a written constitution within 30 days of club approval.
5. Abide by the “Clubs and Organizations Minimum Standards” set by the Office of Student Life and Leadership.

New clubs are being developed each semester and advisors are always needed. For more information contact the Office of Student Life and Leadership at
(714) 895-8261.

Inter-Club Council
Student clubs and organizations are governed by the Inter-Club Council (ICC). ICC assists clubs in fund raising and publicity, and is responsible for coordinating and promoting club events on a cooperative basis. Each club needs to send at least one representative to attend bi-monthly ICC meetings to remain active. The ASGWC Club Consultant chairs this Council. Faculty and staff members are encouraged to support student sponsored clubs and events in any way they can. All club members have a voice through the ICC. The bi-monthly meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month, from 1-2 p.m. The ICC provides an effective, organized, and fair policy so all clubs will thrive. Each semester, ICC co-sponsors with the ASGWC a Club Information Day, which gives interested students an opportunity to learn about various clubs on campus and allows clubs to promote themselves and increase their membership. Please call (714) 892-7711 and dial the extension of the advisor listed under the club name.

Alpha Gamma Sigma (Honor Society) Sigma Pi Chapter – This is the California community college academic honor society. Membership requires a current and cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better. Dues are $12 each semester. AGS promotes scholarship and leadership skills and provides opportunities for service to the campus and local organizations.  All members receive special recognition at the GWC graduation ceremony.  Advisors: Valerie Venegas at ext. 55117 or vvenegas@gwc.cccd.edu  and Jan Davis at ext. 52965 or jdavis@gwc.cccd.edu

Business Economics Club – The purpose of the club is to enhance discussions of business economics issues among GWC students and the local business sector.  Advisor: Jennifer Bailly at ext. 51287 or jbailly@gwc.cccd.edu

California Nursing Student Association (CNSA) – The purpose of this organization is to increase professional awareness and growth of nursing students. Advisor: Deborah Goldstick at ext. 51234 or dgoldstick@gwc.cccd.edu

Christian Club – The purpose of this club is to introduce students to the Bible and give students an opportunity to grow in their faith.  Advisor: Douglas Lloyd at ext. 51122 or dlloyd@gwc.cccd.edu

Circle K Club – Circle K International is college and university students who are responsible citizens and leaders with a lifelong commitment to community service worldwide. Advisor: Stephanie Bridges at sbridges@gwc.cccd.edu

Community Emergency Response Team (C.E.R.T.) Club – The purpose of this club is to provide awareness and preparation to the student body, staff, and the community in the advent of a disaster. Advisors: Rob Bachmann at 58352 or rbachmann@gwc.cccd.edu and Valerie Venegas at 55117 or vvenegas@gwc.cccd.edu

Cosmetology Club – The purpose of this club is to enhance our members’ education, professional ethics, social skills, and personal development through their involvement in club activities. Advisors: Charlotte Jimmons at 58354 or cjimmons@gwc.cccd.edu  and Jon Holland at ext. 58115 or jholland@gwc.cccd.edu

Cosplay Club – The purpose of this club is to provide a safe environment and foster the cosplay sub culture, Students will participate in local events to promote both the campus and the club.  Advisor: Greg Wright at gwright@gwc.cccd.edu

Environmental Sustainability Association – The purpose of this association is to foster multi-disciplinary understandings of sustainability across the GWC campus in support of sound practices, projects, and educational activities. Advisors: Bud Benneman at ext. 52488 or bbenneman@gwc.cccd.edu

EOPS/CARE/Former Foster Youth Club – The purpose of this club is to provide a support system for students, promote cultural awareness through student involvement, give back to the campus and community, and create a positive experience for new and returning students. Advisors: Michelle Sambrano at ext. 51161 or msambrano@gwc.cccd.edu and Tracy Heffelman at theffelman@gwc.cccd.edu

Entrepreneurship Club – The GWC student Entrepreneurship Club will enable student to discuss, network, and explore aspects of starting and managing a business.  Club activities will include leading or participating in entrepreneurship activities on campus, meeting with community entrepreneurs and small business resources/advisors, and take entrepreneurship-education field trips.   Advisor: Bern Baumgartner at bbaumgartner@gwc.cccd.edu

Ethics Bowl Club – The purpose of the club is to have an open forum to further enhance communication skills through the art of debate with a focus on ethical issues and competing in intercollegiate debate competitions. Advisor: Noah Levin at ext. 51062 or nlevin@gwc.cccd.edu

Future Teachers Club – The purpose of this organization shall be to prepare students with an interest in education for transfer to a four-year university. The club shall also act as a forum to exchange ideas on teaching and preparation for a teaching career. Advisor: Vanessa Bonilla at ext. 5206 or vbonilla@gwc.cccd.edu

Gay Lesbian Alternative Straight Alliance (GLASA) – The purpose of this club is to raise awareness of the rights of the GLBT community and to promote a safe environment for greater understanding of the GLBT community. Advisors: John Tornow at ext. 51027 or jtornow@gwc.ccd.edu

Genealogy Association of GWC – The purpose of this club is to offer the opportunity to research family history and culture. Advisor: Claire Kyllingstad at ext. 55115 ckyllingstad@gwc.cccd.edu  and Heather Sanchez at ext. 58261 or hsanchez@gwc.cccd.edu

International Student Club – The purpose of this club is to provide an established organization in conjunction with the International Students Program that offers a community of support to international and resident students. Club members plan activities to familiarize themselves with the culture of the U.S. and share with the GWC campus the different cultures that students represent for better awareness and mutual understanding. Advisor Nikki Phan at ext. 58792 or nphan@gwc.cccd.edu

Internet Radio & TV Club – The club is a group of students interested in operating an Internet radio and television station.  If you are interested in a career as an announcer, disc jockey, news, and/or a sportscaster, contact advisor Warren Carter at ext. 58798 or wcarter@gwc.cccd.edu

Mi Casa Club – The purpose of this club is to foster and promote the academic and personal success of ethnically diverse students. The club encourages student advocacy, personal support, and transition beyond community college. Advisor: Americo Lopez-Rodriguez at ext. 51153 or alopez-rodriguez@gwc.cccd.edu

Muslim Student Association – The Muslim Student Association will serve to unite Muslim as well as non-Muslim students of various backgrounds through the virtues of brother/sisterhood. The club hopes to increase knowledge and awareness of Islam through community service, interfaith dialogue, and group discussions. Advisor: Dr. Paul Tayyar at ext. 52462 or ptayyar@gwc.cccd.edu

N.E.R.D. (Nitor Edoceo Reapse Discipulus) Club – This is an association for science students. Advisors: Travis Vail at ext. 51117 or tvail@gwc.cccd.edu Bud Benneman at ext. 52488 or bbenneman@gwc.cccd.edu and Annamaria Crescimanno at ext. 51064 or acrescimanno@gwc.cccd.edu

Peace and Leadership Club – The purpose of this club is to build a culture of peace; to create peace within ourselves, our community, our country, and our world. Advisor: Farzane Farazdaghi at ext. 52576 or ffarazdaghi@gwc.cccd.edu

PUENTE Club – The purpose of this club is to provide academic support and community service opportunities to students in the PUENTE Program. Advisor: Nancy Fong at ext. 52409 or nfong@gwc.cccd.edu

Psychology Club – The purpose of this club is to provide a forum in which students interested in psychology can interact with each other.  The meetings are designed to to fill a number of functions including providing an opportunity for people to get to know one another, to meet to talk about issues, to learn more information about courses and the department, to discuss jobs and share volunteer oportunities, and to get to know the psycology facualty in a more casual environment.  Advisors: Steven Isonio ext. 55033 or sisonio@gwc.cccd.edu and Maria Chovan ext. 51053 or mchovan@gwc.cccd.edu

Sign Language and Interpreting Club – The purpose of this club is to give students a way to practice signing, learn more about interpreting, and network for the future. Advisor: Kim Pascoe at ext. 55152 or kpascoe@gwc.cccd.edu

Student Veterans Organization – The purpose of this club is to assist in Veterans’ transition from military to student life. Advisor: Michael Carrizo at ext. 58143 or mcarrizo@gwc.cccd.edu

The Writers Bloc – The purpose of this club is to appreciate, understand, and develop the craft of writing. The club’s goal is to provide a student publication to recognize excellent creative expression. Advisor: Mifanwy Kaiser at 53027 or mkaiser@gwc.cccd.edu

Vietnamese Student Association – The purpose of this club is to increase Vietnamese cultural understanding through a diverse club membership, offering educational and cultural events for the campus and community. Advisors:  Cathy Le at ext. 51210 or cle@gwc.cccd.edu or gwcvsa@gmail.com

 

Student Involvement Starts With You!
Student Representation on Campus Committees
Students are needed to serve on a variety of campus-wide committees. Students are encouraged to be an active voice in the decision-making process called Shared Governance. If you would like to be part of this collegial experience where you can work with faculty, staff, administrators as well as other student leaders, contact the Office of Student Life and Leadership and set up a meeting with the ASGWC President today.

Top 5 reasons for being an active student leader:
• Scholarships
• Résumé Building
• Letters of Recommendation
• Meet new friends
• Increase your awareness of your community