

# Classified Senate Open Forum and Emergency Meeting March 24, 2023

#### **Minutes**

Call to Order & Roll Call Attendance – 12:02pm Quroum Established (11 out of 13 Senators)

# Senate Members: (Bold = present); Strikethrough = absent

- 1. **Nelson Contreras** (Senator at Large)
- 2. **Heather Dann** (Senator at Large)
- 3. **Dawn Ditmer** (Administrative Services Senator)
- 4. **Kristen Hill** (President's Wing Senator)
- 5. James Hulbert (CTE Senator)
- 6. **Jessica Jacobs** (Student Services Senator)
- 7. Jill Kiefer (President)

- 8. **Yadira Lopez-Daly** (Senator at Large) (present at 12:05pm)
- 9. Kaori Nakama (Senator at Large)
- 10. Ben Olague (Past President/M&O Senator)
- 11. Bre Ritter (Senator at Large)
- 12. Stephanie Smallshaw (Senator at Large)
- 13. **Pratik Solanki** (IT Senator) (present at 12:07pm)

## Items:

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Overview of:
  - Academic Senate's Resolution regarding a Vote of No Confidence for GWC President Tim McGrath
    - Damien Jordan, Academic Senate President addressed the Classified Senate and shared context for the Academic Senate Vote of No Confidence.
  - b. Classified Senate's Resolution in Support of the Academic Senate Vote of No Confidence for GWC President Tim McGrath
    - Classified Senate President Jill Kiefer shared context for the Classified Senate resolution and walked the group through the rationale of each statement within the document.
  - c. Voting procedure
    - Classified Senate President Jill Kiefer provided an overview of the Classified Senate voting procedures, which states that all Classified Senators have the option to vote in favor, against, or to abstain; and that the President of the Classified Senate only votes in the case of a tie.

## 3. Open Forum

Starting at approximately 12:25pm, the floor was open for any and all Classified Professionals to share their feedback on the issues addressed in the Resolution at hand, so that Classified Senators could ensure that they were voting on behalf of their constituents.

# 4. Vote (12:52 p.m.)

Jessica Jacobs moves to approve the Classified Senate Resolution in Support of the Academic Senate Vote of No Confidence for GWC President Tim McGrath. James Hulbert seconded.

#### Votes:

- 1. Nelson Contreras (Senator at Large) Yes
- 2. Heather Dann (Senator at Large) Yes
- 3. Dawn Ditmer (Administrative Services Senator) Abstain
- 4. Kristen Hill (President's Wing Senator) Yes
- 5. James Hulbert (CTE Senator) Yes
- 6. Jessica Jacobs (Student Services Senator) Yes
- 7. Yadira Lopez-Daly (Senator at Large) Yes
- 8. Kaori Nakama (Senator at Large) Yes
- 9. Ben Olague (Past President/M&O Senator) -Yes
- 10. Bre Ritter (Senator at Large) Yes
- 11. Stephanie Smallshaw (Senator at Large) Yes
- 12. Pratik Solanki (IT Senator) Yes

Motion passes 11 in favor; 0 opposed; 1 abstention.

## 5. Adjournment – 12:55pm